Back in Action: Turkey Time

I’m baaaaaaaaaack!! It’s time to kick off another season! If you’re just now joining my blog, my name is Simone Lee. I recently graduated from Penn State University and I was a member of their volleyball program. Those were some of the best years of my life, but after four years it was time to move onto new adventures. Not a lot of people can say that they graduated college and immediately started living their dream but I am fortunate enough to say that I did. Since graduating and receiving my degree in December 2017, I was fortunate enough to play my first professional half season of volleyball. I played with Imoco Volleyball in Conegliano, Italy. That was such an amazing experience. I got the opportunity to compete with and against some of the best volleyball players in the world. My time in Italy was something I will never forget and something that helped me this coming summer. Once I spent some time back home in Wisconsin, I was invited to train in the USA National Team gym. All summer I, again, got to compete with and against some of the best volleyball players in the gym as well as get coached by some of the world’s best former players. To say I learned a lot and improved my skills would be an accurate assessment of my time in the gym. It’s so amazing to know that there is always something more to learn about the sport I love.

To summarize: Spring was great. Summer was awesome.

So now what?

Well, now I have yet another opportunity to play professional volleyball. This season I am going to be living in Istanbul, Turkey. I am playing with Kameroğlu Beylikdüzü Voleybol. I arrived on October 1st and started practice the next day. This year I’m feeling super blessed, not only do we have great Turkish players on our team but I will also be playing with Kelly Hunter from Nebraska volleyball and Annie Drews from Purdue. Two other Americans and Big Ten players?! How amazing! So cheers to another great season, good health, and amazing experiences. My first full season will be one that I will always remember, I can’t wait to get started!

P.S: I’ve had a little issue with the wifi so this post is late, but I’m glad to be writing again and to be sharing my experiences overseas again. I’m so, so, so excited to be here and for another opportunity to keep sharing with everyone back home what goes on in the life of a professional volleyball player.

3 Replies to “Back in Action: Turkey Time”

  1. Good luck with the season. Be sure to share photos. I have not been to Turkey. And I love reading about your experience.

    Like

Leave a comment